The ESOP Association

ESOP Association Resources

May. 09
May 9, 2022
Torchlight Award Presented to Colorado Governor Jared Polis
Washington, DC – The ESOP Association has presented its inaugural Torchlight Award to Colorado Governor Jared Polis for his leadership in advancing employee ownership and employee stock ownership plans (ESOPs) in Colorado. The award was given as part of its 47th National Conference, which gathered hundreds of employee owners from across the country in Washington, DC for education, advocacy, and public policy.
May. 06
May 6, 2022
Cedar Rapids-Based, Folience, Named 2022 ESOP Company of the Year
May. 06
May 6, 2022
ESOP Association Announces 2022 Employee Owner of the Year
Sarah Limoges of Admix Inc. Earns Highest Individual Honor for Employee Owners
Mar. 14
Washington, DC, March 14, 2022 - The ESOP Association and American Benefits Council jointly filed an amicus brief in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in support of the belief that ESOP plans need, and have, the ability to require individual arbitration to resolve individual participant disputes.  A previous District Court ruling has the potential to eliminate individual arbitration, which would dramatically increase the litigation costs for companies with employee defined-contribution retirement plans, such as ESOPs and 401(k)s. 
Mar. 01
Des Moines Iowa, March 1, 2022 –Today Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds returned to Library Binding Services (LBS Inc.), a 100% employee-owned business, to sign into law legislation to eliminate state taxes on retirement income, including taxes on Employee Stock Ownership Plans (ESOP) distributions.  This important change has the power to motivate more Iowa business owners to sell their businesses to their employees as a business succession plan. 
Feb. 02
Des Moines Iowa, February 2, 2022 – Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds today visited Library Binding Services (LBS Inc.), a 100% Employee Owned business, to promote a plan that would eliminate state taxes for retirement plans, including ESOPs, and would encourage more Iowa business owners to sell their businesses to their employees as a retirement succession plan.
Nov. 12
ESOP Association, Employee Ownership Foundation Announce Record-Breaking Fundraising Month During First Annual ESOPATHON
New Tradition Begins as October’s ESOPATHON Initiative Raises Critical Resources to Further the Cause of Employee Ownership
Nov. 11
The ESOP Association Announces AACE Awards Winners
Annual Awards Honor Excellence in Communications Across the ESOP Community
November 11, 2021, Las Vegas, Nevada – The ESOP Association today announced the winners of the Annual Awards for Communications Excellence (AACE) at a special event held during the Employee Owned 2021 conference at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Sep. 30
US House Committee on Small Business Holds Hearing on Empowering Employee-Owned Businesses Through Access to Capital.
Immediate Past Chair, Gary Shorman testifies emphasizing SBA loan access, the need for ESOP public education and the impact of the DOLs lack of guidance.
Sep. 30
Month-Long Initiative Raising Resources for Foundation’s Critical Work Educating Private Business Owners with Succession Plans, Public Leaders, and other Stakeholders About Value of ESOPs